Choosing between Type 1 and Type 2 surge protection starts with where the device connects, not just its advertised kiloamp rating. NEC 230.67 addresses surge protection for dwelling-unit services, but a product listing alone cannot prove that an installation meets the applicable code or local requirements. Among these three options, I rank the SpikeStopper 75 kA first for its stated Type 1/Type 2 flexibility and 4-wire connection, the Eaton 60 kA as the established Type 2-style choice for indoor or outdoor placement, and the LIDER plug-on Type 2 for buyers whose panel compatibility makes a simpler installation appealing.
Get health and wellness essentials delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
The tradeoff is practical: connection method and verified compatibility matter as much as headline surge capacity. The SpikeStopper claims the broadest placement flexibility, Eaton supplies weather-resistant housing and status indicators, and LIDER fits only specified panel families. I would confirm the exact model documentation, service configuration, and local code requirements with a qualified electrician before choosing or installing any of them.
Key Takeaways
- NEC 230.67 concerns surge protection at dwelling-unit services; it does not mean every Type 1 or Type 2 product automatically satisfies a particular installation.
- SpikeStopper leads this comparison on stated flexibility: it is marketed as Type 1/Type 2, rated 75 kA, and described as using universal 4-wire installation.
- Eaton is the Type 2 pick when indoor/outdoor placement, weather-resistant housing, and status indicators matter more than a plug-on panel connection.
- LIDER is the panel-specific option: its plug-on design and LED status check are useful only when the load center and breaker family match its listed compatibility.
- Have an electrician verify device listing, wiring arrangement, overcurrent protection, service location, and local code acceptance; the supplied product details do not settle those questions.
| SpikeStopper Whole Home Type 1/Type 2 SPD Surge Protection Device with 75 kA Total Protection | ![]() | Best Overall for Stated Type 1/Type 2 Flexibility | SPD type: Listed as Type 1/Type 2 | Voltage: 120 volts, per supplied specification | Installation: Universal 4-wire, per product description | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Eaton Complete Home Surge Protector, Type 2 SPD, 60kA Surge Current, Indoor/Outdoor | ![]() | Best Type 2 Pick for Indoor/Outdoor Placement | SPD type: Type 2 | Voltage: 240 volts | Maximum surge current: 60,000 A (60 kA) | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| LIDER Surge Protective Device Type 2 SPD, 120/240VAC Whole House Surge Protector with LED Indicator | ![]() | Best Panel-Specific Plug-On Option | SPD type: Type 2 | Voltage: 120/240 VAC | Surge current capacity: 10 kA | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| type 1 vs type 2 surge protection nec 23067 | SPD type | Voltage | Placement | Status monitoring |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SpikeStopper Whole Home Type 1 | Listed as Type 1/Type 2 | 120 volts, per supplied specification | Indoor/outdoor suitability claimed | No specific indicator or monitoring feature stated |
| Eaton Complete Home Surge Prot | Type 2 | 240 volts | Indoor/outdoor use stated | LED indicators |
| LIDER Surge Protective Device | Type 2 | 120/240 VAC | — | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
SpikeStopper Whole Home Type 1/Type 2 SPD Surge Protection Device with 75 kA Total Protection
For a buyer comparing service-level Type 1 protection with a Type 2 panel-mounted approach, SpikeStopper makes the broadest claim in this group: it is described as a Type 1/Type 2 SPD, with 75 kA total protection, universal 4-wire installation, and indoor/outdoor suitability. That combination gives it the strongest paper case for flexible placement. The distinction still depends on the exact wiring location and the manufacturer’s installation instructions; I would not treat the dual-type label alone as confirmation that it suits every service configuration or satisfies NEC 230.67 locally.
Compared with the Eaton’s Type 2 positioning and 60 kA rating, SpikeStopper offers a higher stated capacity and claims more placement versatility. It also has a 5-year warranty listed in the supplied specifications. But Eaton provides more explicit detail about its weather-resistant housing and indicator lights, while SpikeStopper’s description gives little information about status monitoring or enclosure construction beyond saying it is solid. The listed 120-volt specification deserves particular scrutiny for a whole-home application: ask an electrician to confirm that the exact unit’s voltage and wiring arrangement match the dwelling’s service.
This is my first pick for flexibility, not a blanket code recommendation. Its headline rating and dual-type description set it apart, but buyers should request and review the complete product label, listing, and wiring diagram. The product information also describes one outlet; that wording may refer to the connection format rather than a set of receptacles, so confirm what it means for installation. Skip it if you need thoroughly documented panel-specific compatibility before purchase or want clearly stated monitoring features.
Pros:- Marketed for both Type 1 and Type 2 installation approaches
- Highest stated surge rating in this group at 75 kA
- Described as using universal 4-wire installation
- Indoor/outdoor suitability and a listed 5-year warranty
Cons:- The stated 120-volt specification needs confirmation for the intended whole-home service
- No specific status indicator or remote monitoring feature is provided in the supplied details
- Complete listing, wiring, and panel compatibility information should be checked before purchase
Best for: Homeowners seeking a device marketed for Type 1/Type 2 use who can have an electrician verify the 4-wire installation, voltage, and service fit.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need fully specified panel compatibility, clear monitoring details, or a code determination based only on the product listing.
- SPD type:Listed as Type 1/Type 2
- Voltage:120 volts, per supplied specification
- Installation:Universal 4-wire, per product description
- Placement:Indoor/outdoor suitability claimed
- Warranty:5 years
- Status monitoring:No specific indicator or monitoring feature stated
Our verdict“I rank SpikeStopper first for its stated Type 1/Type 2 flexibility and 75 kA rating, provided an electrician confirms its voltage and installation fit.”
Eaton Complete Home Surge Protector, Type 2 SPD, 60kA Surge Current, Indoor/Outdoor
Eaton is the more clearly specified Type 2 option for a homeowner who wants a whole-home SPD with an enclosure described as weather-resistant and suitable for indoor or outdoor installation. Its stated 60,000-amp capacity is below SpikeStopper’s 75 kA claim but far above LIDER’s 10 kA rating. A separate 10 kA nominal discharge figure appears in the supplied details, so I would ask an electrician to interpret both ratings using the manufacturer’s documentation rather than comparing those figures as if they measure the same thing.
The practical difference from LIDER is the installation style. Eaton is described as a single-unit device for professional installation, while LIDER uses a plug-on design limited to named panel families. Eaton’s outdoor suitability may open up placement choices that the LIDER listing does not state, and its status indicators offer a visual check. On the other hand, the available specs do not name compatible panel models or clarify the connection requirements. Its “one outlet” listing also needs clarification: this is a panel-connected SPD, not necessarily a conventional receptacle for plugging in appliances.
I place Eaton second because its rating, environment guidance, and indicator detail make a balanced Type 2 proposition, but the supplied warranty field is only an Amazon return-guarantee reference, not a manufacturer warranty term. That leaves less long-term assurance information than SpikeStopper’s stated five years. Choose Eaton when its documentation confirms fit and its enclosure suits the intended location. Skip it if you want plug-on installation for a specifically compatible panel or need clear warranty coverage and wiring details before deciding.
Pros:- Type 2 SPD with a stated 60 kA maximum surge current
- Described for indoor or outdoor installation with weather-resistant housing
- Built-in LED status indicators are listed
- Compact 5-by-5-inch dimensions are supplied
Cons:- Professional installation is recommended, adding planning and labor requirements
- Compatible panels and detailed connection requirements are not identified in the supplied specs
- The supplied warranty information does not state a manufacturer warranty term
Best for: Homeowners comparing Type 2 whole-home protection who need an indoor/outdoor-rated enclosure and want visible status indicators.
Not ideal for: Buyers seeking a plug-on device with named panel compatibility, or those who require a clearly stated manufacturer warranty before purchase.
- SPD type:Type 2
- Voltage:240 volts
- Maximum surge current:60,000 A (60 kA)
- Nominal discharge:10 kA, as listed
- Placement:Indoor/outdoor use stated
- Status monitoring:LED indicators
- Dimensions:5 in L x 5 in W
- Warranty details:Supplied listing references a 30-day Amazon return guarantee
Our verdict“Eaton is my Type 2 choice for stated indoor/outdoor versatility and status indicators, assuming its installation instructions and service compatibility check out.”
LIDER Surge Protective Device Type 2 SPD, 120/240VAC Whole House Surge Protector with LED Indicator
LIDER is the most panel-dependent choice here, and that can be an advantage when the match is right. It is a Type 2, 120/240 VAC SPD with a plug-on installation and listed compatibility with Siemens SN, Eaton BRP, and GE TLM load centers, using QP, BR, or THQL breaker types. For a homeowner with one of those exact panel arrangements, the plug-on format may be more direct than Eaton’s less-specific installation description. Compatibility still needs to be checked against the precise panel model and manufacturer instructions.
Its 10 kA surge capacity is the main compromise. That is lower than Eaton’s stated 60 kA and SpikeStopper’s 75 kA, so I would not choose LIDER for the headline rating alone. Instead, its case is the clearly stated 120/240 VAC specification, panel-fit information, and LED indicator that provides a quick status check. The supplied details say the unit should be replaced when the indicator signals compromised protection; that is a useful warning, but it also means the homeowner needs to pay attention to the indicator and plan for replacement when needed.
I rank LIDER third because its narrow compatibility and lower listed capacity make it less adaptable than the other two for a general comparison. It may nevertheless be the most sensible fit when its panel listing matches and a qualified installer confirms it is appropriate. The manufacturer also lists a three-year warranty. Skip it if your panel is not one of the named families, if you cannot verify breaker compatibility, or if you are prioritizing a higher stated surge rating over the plug-on format.
Pros:- Specifies 120/240 VAC operation
- Plug-on installation is offered for named load-center families
- LED indicator provides a visible protection-status check
- UL-listed status and a three-year warranty are stated
Cons:- 10 kA stated surge capacity is lower than the other two products in this comparison
- Compatibility is limited to specified panel and breaker families
- Indicator-triggered replacement requires ongoing attention
Best for: Homeowners with a confirmed Siemens SN, Eaton BRP, or GE TLM panel who want a plug-on Type 2 SPD and LED status indication.
Not ideal for: Buyers with unlisted load centers, uncertain breaker compatibility, or a priority for higher stated surge capacity.
- SPD type:Type 2
- Voltage:120/240 VAC
- Surge current capacity:10 kA
- SCCR:10 kA
- Compatible panels:Siemens SN, Eaton BRP, GE TLM series
- Breaker families:QP, BR, THQL
- Installation and indicator:Plug-on; LED status indicator
- Listing and warranty:UL-listed; 3 years
Our verdict“LIDER is a practical panel-specific Type 2 pick when the listed load-center match is exact, but its 10 kA rating limits its appeal against the higher-rated alternatives.”

How We Picked
I ranked these devices around the actual decision behind Type 1 versus Type 2: where the SPD can be installed, what the manufacturer says about its connection and rating, and how clearly a homeowner can confirm status and compatibility. For a NEC 230.67 search, I also separated product claims from code interpretation. A stated type or kA value is not a substitute for checking the product’s complete listing and installation instructions against the electrical service and the locally adopted code.
SpikeStopper ranks first because its supplied description specifically identifies it as Type 1/Type 2, gives a 75 kA rating, and describes a 4-wire installation for indoor or outdoor use. Those claims make it the most flexible candidate on paper, though its voltage specification and connection details need careful confirmation. Eaton ranks second for its stated 60 kA capacity, Type 2 designation, weather-resistant enclosure, and status indicators. LIDER ranks third because its 10 kA rating and restricted panel compatibility make it a narrower fit, even though plug-on installation can be convenient for a matching panel.
I considered installation fit, stated protection, monitoring, and disclosed limitations, not popularity or price. The product information supplied here does not include every detail needed for a code determination, such as full certification documentation, complete wiring diagrams, or confirmation of coordination with a specific service panel. I treat missing information as something a buyer should verify—not as proof that a unit is unsuitable or approved.
| type 1 vs type 2 surge protection nec 23067 | SPD type | Placement | Status monitoring |
|---|---|---|---|
| SpikeStopper Whole Home Type 1 | Listed as Type 1/Type 2 | Indoor/outdoor suitability claimed | No specific indicator or monitoring feature stated |
| Eaton Complete Home Surge Prot | Type 2 | Indoor/outdoor use stated | LED indicators |
| LIDER Surge Protective Device | Type 2 | — | — |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Type 1 Vs Type 2 Surge Protection Nec 23067
For this search, I would separate the code question from the product comparison. NEC 230.67 addresses surge protection for dwelling-unit services, but whether a given device and installation comply depends on the applicable code edition, local adoption, product documentation, and service layout. Use the guide below to narrow the candidates, then have an electrician confirm the specific installation.
What Type 1 and Type 2 Mean for Placement
A Type 1 SPD is generally intended for connection on the supply side of the service overcurrent device, while a Type 2 SPD is generally connected on the load side. Those locations affect how a device can be installed and what equipment or instructions apply. The words “Type 1” or “Type 2” on a listing do not, by themselves, identify the correct placement for your service; follow the product’s full instructions and have a qualified electrician confirm the connection point.
In this lineup, LIDER is identified as Type 2 and Eaton is identified as Type 2. SpikeStopper is marketed as Type 1/Type 2, but that claim needs to be matched to the exact wiring diagram and installation conditions. I would not assume that its dual designation means one unit can be moved between locations without changes or that every local authority accepts the installation as proposed.
Read NEC 230.67 as a Code Topic, Not a Product Label
NEC 230.67 concerns surge protection for dwelling-unit services; it is not a shorthand certification for any whole-home device advertised online. Code editions and local adoption can differ, and the authority having jurisdiction may apply local rules. Product descriptions here do not provide enough information to establish that a particular SPD meets every requirement for a specific home.
Before buying, ask the installer to confirm the adopted code edition, the SPD’s certification and marking, its suitability for the service, and the required connection method. Keep the manufacturer’s instructions and product label available. A higher kA number does not by itself establish code compliance, protection performance in every installation, or compatibility with a particular electrical panel.
Compare Surge Ratings Carefully
The ratings supplied for these products are 75 kA for SpikeStopper, 60 kA maximum current for Eaton, and 10 kA for LIDER. On that stated measure, SpikeStopper leads and LIDER trails. However, Eaton also lists a 10 kA nominal discharge figure, which is a different rating from its 60 kA maximum-current claim. Do not compare those two figures as though they describe the same test or performance measure.
Request the manufacturer datasheet if you need a sound comparison of ratings. Confirm the exact model, test definitions, protection modes, and installation conditions. For many homeowners, a verified device fit and a correctly installed SPD are more useful decision points than choosing solely by the largest number in a listing.
Check Panel, Voltage, and Wiring Compatibility
LIDER has the most specific panel information in the supplied details: Siemens SN, Eaton BRP, and GE TLM families, with QP, BR, and THQL breaker types. That specificity helps narrow the fit, but it is not permission to assume every panel in a family accepts the unit. Verify the exact load-center model and installation instructions.
Eaton is described for 240-volt use, while SpikeStopper’s supplied spec says 120 volts and its product description refers to universal 4-wire installation. Those details should be checked against the home’s service and the full manufacturer documentation. LIDER lists 120/240 VAC. If voltage, connection point, or panel compatibility is unclear, pause the purchase and ask an electrician rather than relying on a broad “whole home” description.
Choose Features That Match the Installation
Plug-on convenience is conditional: LIDER may suit a buyer whose load center and breaker family are confirmed, but it is not the universal choice in this comparison. Eaton’s stated indoor/outdoor enclosure and LED indicators may matter when the SPD will be installed in a location exposed to weather or when visual status checks are preferred. SpikeStopper claims indoor/outdoor use and a longer listed warranty, but its supplied information does not identify a status indicator.
Ask how the device signals end of life, how replacement is handled, and whether the location is allowed by the manufacturer. An indicator is useful only if it can be checked and its meaning is understood. Likewise, an enclosure’s weather-resistant description should be verified against its actual rating and the installation environment.
Plan for an Electrician and Future Checks
Whole-home SPDs connect to the electrical service or panel, so installation is not a routine plug-in task. Eaton’s listing recommends professional installation; that is sensible guidance for all three options. An electrician can verify the correct point of connection, conductors, overcurrent protection, panel fit, grounding and bonding details, and local inspection requirements.
After installation, follow the manufacturer’s instructions for checking indicators and replacing a device that has reached end of life. LIDER explicitly calls for replacement when its LED signals compromised protection. The supplied Eaton details mention indicators, while SpikeStopper does not specify a monitoring feature. Ask each manufacturer or installer what status indication means and how to maintain the device over time.
Frequently Asked Questions
Does NEC 230.67 require a Type 1 SPD specifically?
NEC 230.67 addresses surge protection for dwelling-unit services, but that does not mean a buyer should select a product from its Type 1 or Type 2 label alone. The acceptable device and installation depend on the applicable code edition, local adoption, service arrangement, and product instructions. Ask a licensed electrician or local authority to confirm which configuration is accepted for your home.
What is the main difference between Type 1 and Type 2 surge protection?
The key distinction is generally the permitted connection location: Type 1 devices are intended for the supply side of the service overcurrent device, while Type 2 devices are intended for the load side. The right option depends on the service design and the device’s instructions. Have an electrician confirm placement instead of treating the types as interchangeable.
Which of these three products has the highest stated surge rating?
SpikeStopper lists 75 kA, Eaton lists a maximum surge current of 60,000 amps, and LIDER lists 10 kA. Eaton also states a 10 kA nominal discharge figure, which is not the same rating as its maximum-current figure. I would compare the full manufacturer datasheets and definitions rather than relying on one headline number.
Can I install one of these whole-home surge protectors myself?
These devices connect to electrical equipment at the service or panel, so I recommend using a qualified electrician. Eaton specifically recommends professional installation, and all three require confirmation of wiring, voltage, panel fit, and the proper connection point. A professional can also check local code and inspection requirements before energizing the installation.
Which option should I choose if my panel is a Siemens, Eaton, or GE model?
LIDER names Siemens SN, Eaton BRP, and GE TLM load-center families, along with QP, BR, and THQL breaker types, but you still need to confirm the exact panel model and instructions. Eaton and SpikeStopper require their own compatibility checks because the supplied details do not list equivalent panel families. Ask an electrician to verify that the selected unit is approved for your service and installation location.
Conclusion
Choose SpikeStopper if flexibility is your priority and an electrician verifies its dual Type 1/Type 2 claim, 120-volt specification, wiring, and service suitability. Select Eaton if you want a clearly identified Type 2 device with stated indoor/outdoor use, a weather-resistant enclosure, and status indicators. Pick LIDER when its named panel compatibility is a confirmed match and plug-on installation plus an LED indicator matters more than the higher ratings offered by the other two.
I would not buy any of them solely because a listing mentions NEC 230.67 or a large kA number. My final decision would follow the electrician’s confirmation of the locally adopted code, exact device listing, voltage, panel and wiring fit, and installation point. That verification is the difference between a product that sounds suitable and a surge-protection setup selected for the actual home.
Cold & flu season Picks
humidifiers
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.



