For most readers, the Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024) is the best overall choice in this Kindle ereader roundup: its waterproof design and glare-free screen suit everyday reading without adding premium extras. The Kindle 16GB (2024) is a simpler pick for readers who want a compact, straightforward device, while the Kindle Colorsoft models add color for covers and illustrated content. The main tradeoffs are whether you need waterproofing, adjustable lighting, color, or writing tools—and whether those extras justify a larger device or more complex feature set. This lineup also includes several near-identical Paperwhite and Kindle listings, so model details matter more than color names or bundle packaging. Read on for the full breakdown and a guide to choosing the Kindle that fits how you read.
Key Takeaways
- The standard Paperwhite is the strongest all-rounder: the 2024 16GB model combines waterproofing with a glare-free reading screen, while Signature Edition adds auto-adjusting light, wireless charging, and more storage.
- Signature Edition is an extras decision, not a different reading category: choose it for its added convenience features; skip it if standard lighting and storage meet your needs.
- Color models serve a narrower purpose: Colorsoft is aimed at readers who want color content, while the 11-inch Scribe Colorsoft adds a pen and a larger workspace rather than prioritizing compact reading.
- The basic amazon.com/dp/B0CFPHV9ZN?tag=threeheartshome-20&ascsubtag=dc-250876″ target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow sponsored noopener”>Kindle is the straightforward-value choice: it is more compact than the Paperwhite family, but buyers give up the Paperwhite’s waterproof design.
- Check the exact listing before buying: this roundup repeats several 2024 Kindle and Paperwhite configurations across colors, bundles, and naming variations, so compare included accessories and features rather than assuming a different title means a different device.
| Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024, 7-inch, Jade) | ![]() | Best Overall | Display: 7-inch glare-free, 300 ppi | Storage: 16 GB | Weight: 7.4 oz (211 g) | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB (2024, Metallic Jade) | ![]() | Best Premium Paperwhite | Display: 7-inch Paperwhite, 300 ppi | Storage: 32 GB | Weight: 7.5 oz (214 g) | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kindle Colorsoft 16 GB (2024 model) – Waterproof, Color Display, No Ads | ![]() | Best for Color Reading | Display: 7-inch Colorsoft; 300 ppi black-and-white and 150 ppi color | Storage: 16 GB | Battery life: Up to 8 weeks | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kindle Scribe Colorsoft 64GB (Newest Model) – 11″ Color Display with Pen | ![]() | Best for Reading and Handwritten Notes | Display: 11-inch Colorsoft with front light; 300 ppi black-and-white and 150 ppi color | Storage: 64 GB | Weight: 14.1 oz (400 g) | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB (2024) – Auto-adjusting Front Light, Wireless Charging, Waterproof | ![]() | Best for Automatic Lighting | Display: 7-inch Paperwhite, 300 ppi | Storage: 32 GB | Size: 5 x 7 x 0.3 in (127.6 x 176.7 x 7.8 mm) | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kindle 16 GB (2024 Model) | ![]() | Best Everyday Kindle | Display: 6-inch, 300 ppi, glare-free | Storage: 16 GB | Battery life: Up to 6 weeks | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Amazon Kindle 16GB (Newest Model) | ![]() | Best for Readers Who Want the Newest Compact Design | Display: 6-inch, glare-free | Storage: 16 GB | Battery life: Up to 6 weeks | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kindle Essentials Bundle including Kindle (2024 release), Fabric Cover – Rose, and Power Adapter | ![]() | Best Ready-to-Use Kindle Bundle | Display: 6-inch, 300 ppi, glare-free | Storage: 16 GB | Battery life: Up to 6 weeks | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| XTEINK X4 Pro 4.3″ E-Book Reader with Front Light & Touchscreen, Space Black | ![]() | Best Ultra-Compact Alternative to Kindle | Screen: 4.3-inch E-Ink | Resolution: Not specified | Storage: 16 GB | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB (2024) – Waterproof, Wireless Charging, Auto-Adjusting Light, Raspberry | ![]() | Best Premium Kindle for Travel and Water | Display: 7-inch, 300 ppi, glare-free | Storage: 32 GB | Battery life: Up to 12 weeks | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kindle Paperwhite (2024, 16GB, Raspberry) | ![]() | Best Overall for Outdoor Reading | Display: 7-inch glare-free, 300 ppi | Storage: 16 GB | Weight: 7.4 oz (211 g) | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024 Model) – Waterproof, Glare-Free Display | ![]() | Best Paperwhite for Format Flexibility | Display: 7-inch glare-free, 300 ppi | Storage: 16 GB | Weight: 7.4 oz (211 g) | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kindle (11th Generation) 16 GB (2024 Model) – Black | ![]() | Best Compact Kindle | Display: 6-inch glare-free, 300 ppi | Storage: 16 GB | Battery life: Up to 6 weeks | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kindle Colorsoft Signature Edition 32GB (Newest Model) | ![]() | Best for Color Books | Display: 7-inch color display | Storage: 32 GB | Front light: Auto-adjusting | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Kindle Essentials Bundle including Kindle (2024 release), Fabric Cover, and Power Adapter | ![]() | Best Starter Bundle | Display: 6-inch glare-free, 300 ppi | Dimensions: 6.2 x 4.3 x 0.32 in | Weight: 5.56 oz (158 g) | VIEW ON AMAZON | See Our Full Breakdown |
| ereaders kindle | Storage | Display | Battery life | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Kindle Paperwhite 16GB | 16 GB | 7-inch glare-free, 300 ppi | Up to 12 weeks | 7.4 oz (211 g) |
| Kindle Paperwhite Signature Ed | 32 GB | 7-inch Paperwhite, 300 ppi | Up to 12 weeks | 7.5 oz (214 g) |
| Kindle Colorsoft 16 GB | 16 GB | 7-inch Colorsoft; 300 ppi black-and-white and 150 ppi color | Up to 8 weeks | 7.6 oz (215 g) |
| Kindle Scribe Colorsoft 64GB | 64 GB | 11-inch Colorsoft with front light; 300 ppi black-and-white and 150 ppi color | Up to 8 weeks for reading; up to 2 weeks for writing | 14.1 oz (400 g) |
| Kindle Paperwhite Signature Ed | 32 GB | 7-inch Paperwhite, 300 ppi | Up to 12 weeks | 7.5 oz (214 g) |
| Kindle 16 GB | 16 GB | 6-inch, 300 ppi, glare-free | Up to 6 weeks | 5.56 oz (158 g) |
| Amazon Kindle 16GB | 16 GB | 6-inch, glare-free | Up to 6 weeks | — |
| Kindle Essentials Bundle inclu | 16 GB | 6-inch, 300 ppi, glare-free | Up to 6 weeks | 5.56 oz (158 g) |
| XTEINK X4 Pro 4.3" E-Book Read | 16 GB | — | — | 2.5 oz (72 g) |
| Kindle Paperwhite Signature Ed | 32 GB | 7-inch, 300 ppi, glare-free | Up to 12 weeks | 7.5 oz (214 g) |
| Kindle Paperwhite | 16 GB | 7-inch glare-free, 300 ppi | Up to 12 weeks | 7.4 oz (211 g) |
| Kindle Paperwhite 16GB | 16 GB | 7-inch glare-free, 300 ppi | Up to 12 weeks | 7.4 oz (211 g) |
| Kindle | 16 GB | 6-inch glare-free, 300 ppi | Up to 6 weeks | 5.56 oz (158 g) |
| Kindle Colorsoft Signature Edi | 32 GB | 7-inch color display | Up to 8 weeks | — |
| Kindle Essentials Bundle inclu | 16 GB | 6-inch glare-free, 300 ppi | Up to 6 weeks | 5.56 oz (158 g) |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024, 7-inch, Jade)
The 2024 Kindle Paperwhite is my strongest all-around choice for readers who want a familiar Kindle experience without paying for extras they may not use. Its 7-inch, 300 ppi glare-free display keeps text crisp in bright light, while adjustable lighting helps during evening reading. Compared with the Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB, this model gives up wireless charging and automatic light adjustment, but retains the waterproof build and up-to-12-week battery life that matter for regular reading. Its 16GB capacity suits a large book library, though readers who store many audiobooks or documents may prefer the Signature Edition’s extra space. The tradeoff is Amazon’s content ecosystem and Wi-Fi-only connectivity; this is not the pick for readers who need cellular access or broad, unrestricted format support.
Pros:- Sharp 300 ppi display with glare-free reading in varied lighting
- IPX8 waterproof design for reading near water
- Battery life rated for up to 12 weeks
- 16GB storage offers ample room for a substantial ebook library
Cons:- No cellular connectivity
- Lacks the Signature Edition’s wireless charging and auto-adjusting front light
- Amazon ecosystem limits how freely readers can use other stores and formats
Best for: Everyday Kindle readers who want a sharp, waterproof screen and long battery life without Signature Edition conveniences.
Not ideal for: Readers who want wireless charging, automatic brightness adjustment, cellular connectivity, or broad support for non-Kindle libraries.
- Display:7-inch glare-free, 300 ppi
- Storage:16 GB
- Weight:7.4 oz (211 g)
- Battery life:Up to 12 weeks
- Waterproofing:IPX8
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz
- Color:Jade
- Dimensions:5 x 7 x 0.3 in (127.6 x 176.7 x 7.8 mm)
Our verdict“Choose this Paperwhite for a capable everyday Kindle with a clear screen and waterproofing, and skip the Signature Edition upgrades if you do not need them.”
Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB (2024, Metallic Jade)
I’d choose the Paperwhite Signature Edition for readers who want the standard Paperwhite format with fewer small daily adjustments. Its auto-adjusting front light responds to changing surroundings, and 32GB doubles the storage of the Jade 16GB Paperwhite for larger collections. Wireless charging adds convenience, although the charging dock is sold separately, so it is most useful for buyers who already have a compatible setup or are willing to add one. Compared with the Kindle Colorsoft 16 GB, this Signature model keeps the classic monochrome reading experience and offers a longer stated battery life, but it cannot show book covers or illustrations in color. It shares the lineup’s waterproofing and Wi-Fi-only limitation, and the extra capacity may be unnecessary for readers who mainly keep a few books downloaded.
Pros:- Auto-adjusting front light reduces manual brightness changes
- 32GB storage accommodates a larger collection than the 16GB Paperwhite
- Wireless charging support adds a cable-free charging option
- IPX8 waterproofing and up-to-12-week battery life suit travel and daily use
Cons:- Wireless charging dock is sold separately
- Monochrome display cannot show color illustrations
- Wi-Fi only, with no cellular connectivity
Best for: Frequent readers with large Kindle libraries who want automatic lighting and the option of wireless charging.
Not ideal for: Readers who want color pages, cellular connectivity, or a simple Paperwhite without paying for extra storage and charging features.
- Display:7-inch Paperwhite, 300 ppi
- Storage:32 GB
- Weight:7.5 oz (214 g)
- Battery life:Up to 12 weeks
- Waterproofing:IPX8
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz
- Color:Metallic Jade
- Dimensions:5 x 7 x 0.3 in
Our verdict“Pick this model if the larger library capacity and automatic lighting will earn regular use; otherwise, the Jade 16GB Paperwhite covers core reading needs.”
Kindle Colorsoft 16 GB (2024 model) – Waterproof, Color Display, No Ads
The Kindle Colorsoft earns its place for readers whose books actually benefit from color: illustrated nonfiction, comics, or titles with colorful covers and diagrams. Its 7-inch screen renders black-and-white text at 300 ppi and color at 150 ppi, so ordinary prose remains crisp while color pages add context that the monochrome Paperwhite cannot provide. Compared with the Paperwhite 16GB, the Colorsoft makes visual material more engaging, but its battery-life estimate is shorter at up to eight weeks rather than 12. The color display may also look or feel different from a traditional Kindle screen, making it a less direct choice for readers focused almost entirely on novels. Waterproofing and broad listed format support add flexibility, but it remains a Kindle rather than a fully open reading platform.
Pros:- Color display brings illustrations and visual details into the reading experience
- Black-and-white text resolution is 300 ppi
- IPX8 rating supports use around water
- Supports a wide range of listed document and image formats
Cons:- Color resolution is 150 ppi, lower than its black-and-white resolution
- Battery life is rated for up to eight weeks, shorter than the Paperwhite models’ 12 weeks
- Color screen appearance differs from a traditional monochrome Kindle display
Best for: Readers of comics, illustrated books, cookbooks, and nonfiction who want color on a waterproof Kindle-sized device.
Not ideal for: Mostly-text novel readers who prefer the traditional Paperwhite screen and longer stated battery life.
- Display:7-inch Colorsoft; 300 ppi black-and-white and 150 ppi color
- Storage:16 GB
- Battery life:Up to 8 weeks
- Waterproofing:IPX8; withstands immersion in 2 meters of water for 60 minutes
- Weight:7.6 oz (215 g)
- Dimensions:5 x 7 x 0.3 in
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz
- Supported formats:AZW3, AZW, TXT, PDF, MOBI, EPUB, DOCX, DOC, HTML, RTF, JPEG, GIF, PNG, BMP, AAX
Our verdict“Choose the Colorsoft when color pages matter to your reading; for mostly text, the Paperwhite offers longer stated battery life and a classic display.”
Kindle Scribe Colorsoft 64GB (Newest Model) – 11″ Color Display with Pen
The Kindle Scribe Colorsoft is the outlier here: it is a large reading and writing device, not a pocketable alternative to the 7-inch Kindles. Its 11-inch color display and included Premium Pen make more sense for marking up documents, keeping handwritten notes, or reading pages that benefit from extra room. The 64GB capacity also gives document-heavy users more space than the 16GB Colorsoft or 32GB Paperwhite Signature Edition. That flexibility comes with a clear portability tradeoff: at 14.1 ounces, it weighs almost twice as much as those smaller models. Battery life is stated as up to eight weeks for reading but two weeks for writing, so frequent pen use changes the charging rhythm. Choose the Scribe for a combined reader and notebook; skip it if your main goal is lightweight, simple book reading.
Pros:- Large 11-inch color screen provides more room for documents and notes
- Included Premium Pen has an eraser and shortcut button
- 64GB storage suits larger document libraries
- Supports a range of ebook, document, and image formats
Cons:- At 14.1 oz, it is substantially heavier than the 7-inch Kindle models
- Battery life is rated for up to two weeks when writing, versus up to eight weeks for reading
- Some premium features may require additional purchases
Best for: Readers, students, and document-focused professionals who want a large Kindle screen for reading and handwritten notes.
Not ideal for: Commuters and novel readers seeking a compact, light e-reader for one-handed reading.
- Display:11-inch Colorsoft with front light; 300 ppi black-and-white and 150 ppi color
- Storage:64 GB
- Weight:14.1 oz (400 g)
- Dimensions:7.4 x 9.6 x 0.21 in
- Pen:Premium Pen, 6.1 x 0.35 in
- Battery life:Up to 8 weeks for reading; up to 2 weeks for writing
- Wi-Fi:2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz networks
- Supported formats:AZW3, AZW, TXT, PDF, MOBI, EPUB, DOCX, DOC, HTML, RTF, JPEG, GIF, PNG, BMP, AAX
Our verdict“Choose the Scribe if handwritten notes and large documents are part of your Kindle use; for portable book reading, a Paperwhite is a better fit.”
Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB (2024) – Auto-adjusting Front Light, Wireless Charging, Waterproof
This Metallic Black Paperwhite Signature Edition brings the same core upgrades as the Metallic Jade Signature: 32GB storage, wireless charging, and an auto-adjusting front light in a waterproof 7-inch reader. I’m assigning it a separate role for readers who value hands-off lighting and want this finish; its practical reading features otherwise closely match the Jade Signature Edition. Compared with the Jade 16GB Paperwhite, it adds twice the storage and the convenience features, but gives up none of the Wi-Fi-only limitation and still requires a separate wireless charging dock. Its monochrome 300 ppi display is well suited to text, though readers who want illustrated content in color should look at the Colorsoft instead. This is a more convenient Paperwhite, not a different kind of reading experience.
Pros:- Auto-adjusting front light adapts to surrounding conditions
- 32GB storage provides more room than the 16GB Paperwhite
- Wireless charging support offers an alternative to cable charging
- IPX8 waterproofing and up-to-12-week battery life suit travel and daily reading
Cons:- Wireless charging dock is sold separately
- Monochrome display does not show color illustrations
- No cellular connectivity
Best for: Readers who want a black-finish Paperwhite with automatic lighting, extra storage, and wireless charging support.
Not ideal for: Buyers who do not need Signature Edition conveniences, want a color screen, or expect a charging dock to be included.
- Display:7-inch Paperwhite, 300 ppi
- Storage:32 GB
- Size:5 x 7 x 0.3 in (127.6 x 176.7 x 7.8 mm)
- Weight:7.5 oz (214 g)
- Battery life:Up to 12 weeks
- Waterproofing:IPX8
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz
- Color:Metallic Black
Our verdict“Choose this Signature Edition for automatic lighting and added storage in Metallic Black, or save the extras with the Jade 16GB Paperwhite.”
Kindle 16 GB (2024 Model)
The Kindle 16 GB (2024 Model) is my straightforward pick for readers who want a compact Kindle without the larger body or extra features of a Paperwhite. Its 6-inch, 300 ppi glare-free screen keeps text crisp, while adjustable front lighting and dark mode make it easier to settle in across different lighting conditions. At 5.56 ounces, it is also easier to carry for commutes than the 7-inch Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition. The tradeoff is a smaller reading area and no listed waterproof protection, so the Paperwhite is a better fit for bath or poolside reading. This Kindle offers 16 GB of storage and up to six weeks of battery life, but it does not support ad-hoc Wi-Fi networks, and its accessibility features are limited to English. I’d choose it for uncomplicated, portable reading rather than premium extras.
Pros:- Lightweight 5.56-ounce design is easy to carry
- 300 ppi glare-free display keeps text sharp
- Adjustable front light and dark mode support varied reading conditions
- Up to six weeks of battery life and 16 GB storage
Cons:- Six-inch screen offers less page area than the Paperwhite models
- No listed waterproof protection
- Does not support ad-hoc Wi-Fi networks, and accessibility features are English-only
Best for: Readers who want a light, pocketable Kindle for novels, commuting, and everyday use.
Not ideal for: Readers who want a larger screen, waterproofing, or wireless charging; the Paperwhite Signature Edition offers more of those conveniences.
- Display:6-inch, 300 ppi, glare-free
- Storage:16 GB
- Battery life:Up to 6 weeks
- Weight:5.56 oz (158 g)
- Dimensions:6.2 x 4.3 x 0.32 inches
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi, 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz
- Supported formats:AZW3, AZW, TXT, PDF, MOBI, PRC, DOCX, DOC, EPUB, RTF, JPEG, GIF, PNG, BMP
Our verdict“Choose this Kindle for portable, no-frills reading; pick a Paperwhite if you want a larger display and waterproofing.”
Amazon Kindle 16GB (Newest Model)
The Amazon Kindle 16GB (Newest Model) suits readers drawn to a slim, simple device and the familiar Kindle library. Its 6-inch glare-free display and up-to-six-week battery life put it in the same everyday-reading class as the Kindle 16 GB (2024 Model), rather than the larger-screen Paperwhite Signature Edition. The stated faster page turns may appeal to readers who move quickly through books, while adjustable brightness helps with changes in ambient light. Still, the listing gives less detail about screen resolution and supported formats than the 2024 model’s specs, so buyers who want clearly documented format support may prefer that option. The wireless page-turn remote is sold separately, and brightness adjustment is the only lighting control specified. I’d pick this version for its redesigned, light form, not for accessories or advanced lighting features.
Pros:- Thin, light design is suited to carrying between home and work
- Glare-free 6-inch screen supports reading in bright surroundings
- Up to six weeks of battery life
- Access to Kindle Store titles and Kindle Unlimited
Cons:- Wireless page-turn remote is sold separately
- Only brightness control is specified for lighting adjustment
- Resolution and supported formats are not specified in the supplied product data
Best for: Readers who prioritize a lightweight, redesigned Kindle for ebooks and are comfortable with basic brightness adjustment.
Not ideal for: Buyers who want detailed format specifications, a larger display, or a page-turn remote included in the box.
- Display:6-inch, glare-free
- Storage:16 GB
- Battery life:Up to 6 weeks
- Design:Thinner and lighter redesigned body
- Lighting:Adjustable brightness
- Page-turn remote:Wireless remote sold separately
Our verdict“Pick this model for a simple, newly redesigned compact Kindle, but choose the 2024 Kindle if documented resolution and format support matter more.”
Kindle Essentials Bundle including Kindle (2024 release), Fabric Cover – Rose, and Power Adapter
This bundle is the simplest route to a Kindle 2024 with a cover and 9W power adapter in the package. The reader itself has the same 6-inch, 300 ppi screen and 16 GB capacity as the standalone Kindle 16 GB (2024 Model), so the bundle’s distinction is convenience rather than a better reading display. The fabric cover adds protection for carrying the device, and the adapter provides a charging option without sourcing one separately. Compared with the standalone Kindle, it is a more complete starting setup; compared with the Paperwhite Signature Edition, it remains smaller and lacks listed waterproofing and wireless charging. Battery life is rated up to six weeks, though actual use varies. I’d choose this package when the included accessories suit your needs, but skip it if you already own a compatible cover or adapter.
Pros:- Includes the Kindle, rose fabric cover, and 9W power adapter
- 6-inch, 300 ppi glare-free display with adjustable front light
- 16 GB storage and support for a broad range of listed formats
- Reader uses recycled plastics and recycled magnesium
Cons:- The reader has no listed waterproof protection
- Included accessories add little value for buyers who already own a cover and adapter
- Charging time varies by method, with the listed USB charging time longer than adapter charging
Best for: First-time Kindle buyers who want a protective cover and wall adapter included with a compact reader.
Not ideal for: Kindle owners who already have charging accessories, or readers seeking a waterproof device and a larger screen.
- Display:6-inch, 300 ppi, glare-free
- Storage:16 GB
- Battery life:Up to 6 weeks
- Weight:5.56 oz (158 g)
- Included accessories:Rose fabric cover and 9W power adapter
- Charge time:Approximately 4 hours via USB; 2 hours with 9W adapter
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi, 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz
- Materials:75% recycled plastics and 90% recycled magnesium
- Warranty:1-year limited
Our verdict“Choose the bundle if you need both a cover and adapter; otherwise, the standalone Kindle 16 GB (2024 Model) provides the same core reader.”
XTEINK X4 Pro 4.3″ E-Book Reader with Front Light & Touchscreen, Space Black
The XTEINK X4 Pro is the outlier here: a tiny, non-Kindle reader for people who value pocketability over a roomy page. At 2.5 ounces and just 4.3 inches across the screen, it is much easier to tuck away than the 6-inch Kindle 16 GB (2024 Model). Physical page buttons provide an alternative to tapping the touchscreen, and its dual-tone front light lets readers adjust between warm and cool illumination. Unlike the Kindle options, it supports expandable microSD storage up to 256 GB, but the supplied data does not give a display resolution, making text sharpness harder to compare. It also relies on a proprietary app and cloud services for convenient file transfers. I’d pick it for short reading sessions on the move, not as a direct replacement for a full-size Kindle.
Pros:- Very light 2.5-ounce body and slim 5.95 mm profile
- Touchscreen plus physical page-turn buttons
- Adjustable warm and cool front light
- microSD storage expansion up to 256 GB
Cons:- 4.3-inch display can feel cramped compared with the 6-inch Kindle models
- Display resolution is not specified in the supplied product data
- Convenient file transfer relies on a proprietary app and cloud services
Best for: Readers who want an exceptionally small secondary e-reader with physical page buttons and expandable storage.
Not ideal for: Readers who prefer a standard page size, want a clearly specified screen resolution, or rely on a straightforward Kindle Store workflow.
- Screen:4.3-inch E-Ink
- Resolution:Not specified
- Storage:16 GB
- Expandable storage:microSD up to 256 GB
- Weight:2.5 oz (72 g)
- Thickness:5.95 mm
- Battery:1100 mAh
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi
- Supported formats:EPUB, TXT, MOBI, PDF
Our verdict“Choose the X4 Pro as a pocket-sized companion reader, not if you want the larger screen and Kindle ecosystem of the Kindle 16 GB.”
Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition 32GB (2024) – Waterproof, Wireless Charging, Auto-Adjusting Light, Raspberry
The Kindle Paperwhite Signature Edition is the premium fit for readers who want a larger screen and less day-to-day charging. Its 7-inch, 300 ppi display gives pages more room than the 6-inch Kindle 16 GB (2024 Model), while the auto-adjusting front light can adapt brightness without repeated manual changes. An IPX8 waterproof rating adds reassurance near a pool or bath, and wireless charging offers another way to top up. The tradeoff is a heavier, larger device at 7.5 ounces, plus the wireless charging feature requires a compatible dock that is not listed as included. Its 32 GB capacity and up-to-12-week battery rating suit regular readers, though the supplied data also notes no built-in Audible support and narrower non-Kindle format versatility. I’d choose it for premium reading conveniences, not for minimum size or broad-format flexibility.
Pros:- 7-inch, 300 ppi glare-free display provides more reading area than the basic Kindle
- IPX8 waterproof rating suits reading around water
- Auto-adjusting front light and wireless charging add convenience
- 32 GB storage and up to 12 weeks of battery life
Cons:- Heavier and larger than the 6-inch Kindle 16 GB (2024 Model)
- Wireless charging requires a compatible dock
- No built-in Audible support, and non-Kindle format versatility is limited
Best for: Frequent readers who want a larger Kindle screen, waterproofing, auto-adjusting light, and long battery life for travel.
Not ideal for: Readers who want the lightest, least bulky Kindle, built-in Audible support, or broad compatibility beyond the Amazon ecosystem.
- Display:7-inch, 300 ppi, glare-free
- Storage:32 GB
- Battery life:Up to 12 weeks
- Weight:7.5 oz (214 g)
- Dimensions:5 x 7 x 0.3 inches (127.6 x 176.7 x 7.8 mm)
- Charging:Wireless charging and USB-C
- Color:Metallic Raspberry
Our verdict“Choose this Paperwhite Signature Edition for a larger, waterproof Kindle with premium lighting and charging features; choose the basic Kindle for a lighter, simpler reader.”
Kindle Paperwhite (2024, 16GB, Raspberry)
I’d choose this Paperwhite for a reader who wants a dependable Kindle for long sessions in varied settings. Its 7-inch, 300-ppi glare-free screen gives text more room than the 6-inch Kindle (11th Generation), while the IPX8 rating makes poolside or bath reading less risky. Up to 12 weeks of battery life also gives it an advantage over that smaller Kindle’s stated six weeks, though actual run time depends on use. The tradeoff is a larger, heavier body, and this model relies on Wi-Fi rather than cellular connectivity. Its Raspberry finish adds a color choice, not a different reading experience. I’d pick it over the basic Kindle for waterproofing and screen size, but skip it if compactness matters most.
Pros:- 7-inch, 300-ppi glare-free display with high contrast
- IPX8 waterproofing suits reading near water
- Up to 12 weeks of stated battery life
- 16 GB storage and Wi-Fi on both 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz
Cons:- Larger and heavier than the 6-inch Kindle (11th Generation)
- No cellular connectivity
- Content access depends on Amazon services and supported formats
Best for: Readers who want a larger, waterproof Kindle for travel, outdoor use, and long reading sessions.
Not ideal for: Readers who prioritize the lightest, smallest Kindle or need cellular connectivity for downloads.
- Display:7-inch glare-free, 300 ppi
- Storage:16 GB
- Weight:7.4 oz (211 g)
- Dimensions:5 x 7 x 0.3 in (127.6 x 176.7 x 7.8 mm)
- Battery life:Up to 12 weeks
- Waterproofing:IPX8
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz
- Color:Raspberry
Our verdict“Choose this Paperwhite if a spacious, waterproof screen matters more than the smaller Kindle’s lighter carry.”
Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024 Model) – Waterproof, Glare-Free Display
This Paperwhite shares the core reading hardware of the Raspberry Kindle Paperwhite: a 7-inch, 300-ppi screen, IPX8 waterproofing, 16 GB of storage, and up to 12 weeks of stated battery life. Its advantage in this lineup is the more explicit supported-format information, which can help readers who move personal documents alongside Kindle books. Compared with the 6-inch Kindle (11th Generation), it offers a roomier display and water protection, but adds weight and gives up some pocket-friendly portability. The listed format support does not make every file behave like a native Kindle book, and the device still depends on Wi-Fi for downloads. I’d favor this over the similarly equipped Raspberry version if format documentation and finish choices matter more than having a named color in the title.
Pros:- 7-inch glare-free display at 300 ppi
- IPX8 rating specifies immersion in up to 2 meters of water for 60 minutes
- Supports listed formats including EPUB, PDF, DOCX, and AAX
- Slim body with up to 12 weeks of stated battery life
Cons:- No built-in audio speakers; Audible playback uses Bluetooth
- No ad-hoc Wi-Fi support listed
- Heavier and larger than the 6-inch Kindle (11th Generation)
Best for: Readers who want a waterproof Paperwhite and plan to send a mix of ebooks and personal documents to their Kindle.
Not ideal for: Readers who need built-in speakers, cellular downloads, or the smallest possible ereader.
- Display:7-inch glare-free, 300 ppi
- Storage:16 GB
- Weight:7.4 oz (211 g)
- Dimensions:5 x 7 x 0.3 in (127.6 x 176.7 x 7.8 mm)
- Battery life:Up to 12 weeks
- Waterproofing:IPX8; up to 2 meters for 60 minutes
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz
- Supported formats:AZW3, AZW, TXT, PDF, MOBI, PRC, EPUB, DOCX, DOC, HTML, RTF, JPEG, GIF, PNG, BMP, AAX
Our verdict“Pick this Paperwhite if you want the larger waterproof screen and clearly listed file support, rather than the basic Kindle’s compact size.”
Kindle (11th Generation) 16 GB (2024 Model) – Black
For a reader who carries a Kindle everywhere, this is the lineup’s clearest compact pick. At 5.56 oz with a 6-inch screen, it is lighter and smaller than either 2024 Paperwhite, making it easier to hold one-handed or pack into a small bag. The 300-ppi glare-free display keeps text sharp, and adjustable brightness helps adapt to changing light. The compromises are practical: it has no waterproof rating and its stated battery life is up to six weeks, half the Paperwhite models’ stated span. Unlike the Kindle Colorsoft Signature Edition, it also displays books in black and white, so it is a poor fit for color-heavy comics. I’d choose it for portable text reading, not for wet environments or color content.
Pros:- Light 5.56 oz body is easier to carry than the Paperwhite models
- 6-inch glare-free display with 300-ppi resolution
- Adjustable brightness for different lighting conditions
- 16 GB storage and support for multiple document and image formats
Cons:- No waterproof feature listed
- Up to six weeks of stated battery life, versus up to 12 weeks for the Paperwhite
- Black-and-white screen cannot show color in comics or illustrations
Best for: Commuters and frequent travelers who want a lightweight Kindle mainly for novels and other text-focused reading.
Not ideal for: Readers who need waterproofing, a larger screen, or color for comics and illustrated books.
- Display:6-inch glare-free, 300 ppi
- Storage:16 GB
- Battery life:Up to 6 weeks
- Weight:5.56 oz (158 g)
- Dimensions:6.2 x 4.3 x 0.32 in
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz
- Supported formats:AZW3, AZW, TXT, PDF, MOBI, PRC, DOCX, DOC, HTML, EPUB, RTF, JPEG, GIF, PNG, BMP
- Warranty:1-year limited
Our verdict“Choose this Kindle if low weight and easy carrying matter more than the Paperwhite’s larger screen and waterproofing.”
Kindle Colorsoft Signature Edition 32GB (Newest Model)
The Colorsoft is the specialist choice here: its 7-inch color display makes comics and graphic novels more legible as designed, while the standard Paperwhite and Kindle (11th Generation) are black-and-white readers. The 32 GB capacity also gives color-heavy libraries more room than the 16 GB options in this batch. An auto-adjusting front light can adapt illumination to the reading environment, and waterproofing adds flexibility for where to read. The tradeoff is that color is the reason to choose this model; text-only readers may get more practical value from a Paperwhite’s listed 300-ppi screen and longer stated battery life of up to 12 weeks. This model lists up to eight weeks. Warm light and Dark Mode are not specified, so I wouldn’t buy it expecting those features.
Pros:- 7-inch color display shows comics and illustrations in color
- 32 GB storage exceeds the 16 GB models in this batch
- Auto-adjusting front light adapts illumination
- Waterproof design and up to eight weeks of stated battery life
Cons:- Up to eight weeks of stated battery life, shorter than the Paperwhite’s up to 12 weeks
- Warm-light control and Dark Mode are not specified
- Cover and remote are separate accessories
Best for: Comic, graphic-novel, and illustrated-book readers who want color on a Kindle screen.
Not ideal for: Mostly text-focused readers who would prefer the Paperwhite’s longer stated battery life or a simpler black-and-white ereader.
- Display:7-inch color display
- Storage:32 GB
- Front light:Auto-adjusting
- Waterproofing:Yes
- Battery life:Up to 8 weeks
Our verdict“Choose the Colorsoft if color comics and illustrated books are central to your reading, not just an occasional extra.”
Kindle Essentials Bundle including Kindle (2024 release), Fabric Cover, and Power Adapter
This bundle is aimed at a first-time Kindle buyer who wants the reader and basic accessories together. It pairs the 6-inch, 300-ppi Kindle with a fabric cover, 9W adapter, and USB-C cable, so there is less accessory shopping after setup. The reader itself matches the compact Kindle (11th Generation) profile: 5.56 oz, 16 GB, and up to six weeks of stated battery life. That makes it easier to carry than the 7-inch Paperwhite, but the Paperwhite is the better fit for wet settings because this bundle provides no waterproof rating. I’d choose the bundle for a ready-to-use, text-focused setup; skip it if you want the Paperwhite’s larger screen or need confirmed water protection.
Pros:- Includes a fabric cover, 9W power adapter, and USB-C cable
- Compact 5.56 oz Kindle with a 6-inch glare-free, 300-ppi display
- 16 GB storage and up to six weeks of stated battery life
- Listed support for common ebook and document formats
Cons:- No waterproof rating is provided for the included Kindle
- Smaller display and shorter stated battery life than the 7-inch Paperwhite
- Requires Wi-Fi for content downloads
Best for: New Kindle owners who want a compact reader with a cover, charging adapter, and cable included.
Not ideal for: Readers who need waterproofing or want a larger screen and longer stated battery life than the Paperwhite alternatives offer.
- Display:6-inch glare-free, 300 ppi
- Dimensions:6.2 x 4.3 x 0.32 in
- Weight:5.56 oz (158 g)
- Storage:16 GB
- Battery life:Up to 6 weeks
- Charge time:Approximately 4 hours with USB-C
- Connectivity:Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz
- Included accessories:Fabric cover, 9W power adapter, USB-C cable
- Generation:11th Generation (2024 release)
Our verdict“Choose this bundle if you want the compact Kindle and its basic accessories together, and do not need waterproofing.”

How We Picked
I ranked these ereaders by how well their features serve distinct reading needs: everyday novels, reading near water, color content, note-taking, and maximum portability. I gave more weight to practical differences that change daily use—screen size and type, lighting, waterproofing, storage, charging options, and included accessories—than to color variations or repeated listings. The standard Paperwhite leads because its balance of reading comfort and protection suits the broadest group, while Signature models rank higher for readers who will use their added conveniences.
Colorsoft and Scribe models appear lower for general-purpose reading because color and pen features matter most to specific users, and the larger Scribe is less compact. The basic Kindle models and bundles are positioned for readers who prefer simplicity or want a cover and adapter included. I included the XTEINK X4 Pro as a compact alternative, but it ranks below the Kindle options for shoppers specifically seeking a Kindle ecosystem device. Duplicate or near-duplicate listings are treated as configuration choices, not separate leaps in capability.
| ereaders kindle | Battery life | Connectivity |
|---|---|---|
| Kindle Paperwhite 16GB | Up to 12 weeks | Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz |
| Kindle Paperwhite Signature Ed | Up to 12 weeks | Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz |
| Kindle Colorsoft 16 GB | Up to 8 weeks | Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz |
| Kindle Scribe Colorsoft 64GB | Up to 8 weeks for reading; up to 2 weeks for writing | — |
| Kindle Paperwhite Signature Ed | Up to 12 weeks | Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz |
| Kindle 16 GB | Up to 6 weeks | Wi-Fi, 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz |
| Amazon Kindle 16GB | Up to 6 weeks | — |
| Kindle Essentials Bundle inclu | Up to 6 weeks | Wi-Fi, 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz |
| XTEINK X4 Pro 4.3" E-Book Read | — | Wi-Fi |
| Kindle Paperwhite Signature Ed | Up to 12 weeks | — |
| Kindle Paperwhite | Up to 12 weeks | Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz |
| Kindle Paperwhite 16GB | Up to 12 weeks | Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz |
| Kindle | Up to 6 weeks | Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz |
| Kindle Colorsoft Signature Edi | Up to 8 weeks | — |
| Kindle Essentials Bundle inclu | Up to 6 weeks | Wi-Fi 2.4 GHz and 5.0 GHz |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Ereaders Kindle
Choosing among Kindle ereaders is less about finding the longest feature list and more about matching the device to your reading habits. These broader checks can help you avoid paying for extras you will rarely use—or overlooking a limitation that will bother you every day.
Choose the screen for what you read
For novels and other mostly text-based books, a monochrome e-ink screen keeps the experience focused and avoids paying for color you may seldom notice. Color can help with book covers, comics, diagrams, and other illustrated material, but it does not automatically make every reading session better. Think about how often color appears in the books you actually open, not just how appealing it looks on a product page. A large screen can make pages and notes easier to work with, but it also takes up more room in a bag and may feel less comfortable to hold for long stretches. If your library is mainly prose, prioritize comfortable text reading over display features designed for occasional use.
Pay for lighting and protection only when they solve a real problem
Waterproofing matters most if you read by a pool, in a bath, or in other settings where splashes are plausible; it may be an unnecessary upgrade for a device used only at home. Adjustable front lighting can make reading easier across changing environments, while auto-adjustment is a convenience rather than a requirement for everyone. Before stepping up to a Signature model, ask whether you want its lighting behavior and wireless charging enough to make them part of your routine. If you usually read in one familiar place and charge with a cable, the standard model may be the more sensible fit. Focus on the situations your ereader will face, not on protection features you are unlikely to use.
Treat storage as a habit question, not a spec contest
Text-heavy ebooks generally take little room, so readers who keep a modest library or remove finished books may not need the largest storage option. Comics, illustrated books, and other larger files can fill space faster, especially if you keep many downloaded titles available offline. Consider whether you prefer a curated device library or carrying a broad collection while traveling. Cloud access can reduce the need to store every title locally, but it is less useful when you expect to read without a connection. Pick capacity around your offline habits rather than assuming more storage will improve the reading experience itself.
Decide whether writing tools belong in your reading device
A pen-equipped ereader can make sense for readers who annotate, mark up documents, or keep handwritten notes alongside books. It is a different kind of purchase from a compact reader: a larger device can support more writing space, but it is less convenient to carry and hold casually. If you only highlight a sentence now and then, a dedicated writing surface may add bulk without changing your routine. Before choosing a Scribe-style model, identify the specific tasks it would replace, such as a notebook or document reader. The stronger the writing use case, the easier it is to justify the larger format.
Compare bundles and repeated listings by what is included
Several products in this roundup are the same or closely related Kindle generations listed with different colors, feature descriptions, or bundle contents. A bundle can save setup effort by pairing a cover and power adapter with the device, but check that those are accessories you want and that the listing describes the exact Kindle generation. Do not assume a color change signals a screen or performance upgrade. Compare the feature list and included items line by line, particularly when choosing between standard and Signature Paperwhite listings. This is the easiest way to avoid buying a duplicate configuration or paying for accessories you already own.
Think about carrying comfort and device role
A compact Kindle is easier to slip into a small bag and hold one-handed, which can matter more than advanced features for readers who take a device everywhere. A larger model can provide room for color content or handwriting, but it asks the owner to carry a more substantial device. The XTEINK X4 Pro is a particularly small alternative, though it is not a Kindle and may not suit shoppers who want to stay within Amazon’s Kindle lineup. Decide whether the ereader will be a dedicated home device, a daily carry, or a reading-and-writing tool. Choosing its primary role first can narrow the field faster than comparing every listed specification.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is the Paperwhite Signature Edition worth choosing over the standard Paperwhite?
Choose Signature Edition if auto-adjusting front lighting, wireless charging, or its added storage match habits you already have. The standard Paperwhite keeps the core waterproof, glare-free reading experience, so those extras do not change what most text-focused reading feels like. Wireless charging is most useful if you already use a compatible charging setup and want to avoid plugging in a cable. If you do not care about those conveniences, the standard model is the simpler choice. Compare the exact listing because this roundup includes multiple Signature Edition descriptions and colors.
Should I get a Kindle Colorsoft if I mostly read novels?
If nearly all your reading is prose, a standard Kindle or Paperwhite is likely the more direct fit. Colorsoft makes more sense when color covers, illustrations, comics, or other visual material are a regular part of your library. Think about whether color will improve the pages you read, not only the book thumbnails shown in your library. A color model also does not replace the benefits of choosing the right size, lighting, and waterproofing for your routine. If your reading is mostly black text on a page, spend your attention on those everyday comfort factors instead.
Is a basic Kindle enough, or should I move up to a Paperwhite?
A basic Kindle is a good match if you want a compact device for straightforward reading and do not need waterproofing. The Paperwhite is the better fit if you often read near water or want its larger, glare-free display and broader everyday versatility. Consider where you read as much as how many books you own: a simple device can be perfectly suitable at home, while travel or poolside use can make extra protection more useful. Avoid upgrading just because the Paperwhite has more features. Choose it when one of those differences addresses a need you expect to encounter regularly.
Do I need a Scribe Colorsoft for highlighting and notes?
Not if your main goal is occasional highlighting in ebooks. The Scribe Colorsoft is better suited to readers who expect to write by hand, annotate documents, or use a larger screen as part of a note-taking routine. Its 11-inch format creates more working room, but it is less compact than a standard Kindle or Paperwhite. Consider whether you will use the pen often enough to accept that change in portability. If reading remains the main job, a smaller model may be easier to carry and hold.
How can I tell whether two Kindle listings are different models or just different bundles?
Compare the generation, screen type and size, storage, lighting, waterproofing, charging features, and included accessories rather than relying on the listing title alone. In this roundup, several Kindle and Paperwhite entries repeat the same core model with different colors or bundle contents. A cover or power adapter changes what arrives in the box, not necessarily the ereader itself. Check whether a listing specifies Signature Edition or Colorsoft, since those names indicate meaningful feature differences. When details are unclear, confirm the full model description before choosing.
Conclusion
For most readers, I recommend the Kindle Paperwhite 16GB (2024) as the best overall pick for its balance of everyday reading comfort and waterproofing. The basic Kindle 16GB is my best value-style choice for readers who want a compact, uncomplicated device and can skip waterproofing; it is also the best starting point for beginners. Choose the Paperwhite Signature Edition as the best premium option if auto-adjusting light, wireless charging, and added storage are features you will use. For specific needs, pick Kindle Colorsoft for color content, Scribe Colorsoft for a larger screen and pen-based work, or the XTEINK X4 Pro if extreme compactness matters more than joining the Kindle family. Match the device to your reading routine, then check the exact listing for its generation and included accessories.














